NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, April 18, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes from the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the State Board of Higher Education regarding the P16 initiative
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
10:15 a.m.	Report by representatives of the State Board of Higher Education regarding implementation of a policy requiring all institutions to assess faculty and teaching assistant English communication skills
10:30 a.m.	Report by representatives of the State Board of Higher Education regarding the long-term finance plan and the report on higher education prepared by MGT of America, Inc.
11:00 a.m.	Presentations by Ms. Barb Arnold-Tengesdal, Assistant Professor, University of Mary Division of Education; Ms. Amy Neal, President, North Dakota Kindergarten Association; Dr. Chuck DeRemer, Assistant Superintendent, Fargo Public School District; and Mr. Steven Swiontek, Superintendent, Devils Lake Public School District, regarding kindergartens
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentations by Mr. Tom Decker, Director of Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction, and Mr. Jon Martinson, Executive Director, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding educational associations governed by joint powers agreements
2:30 p.m.	Coffee break
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Anita Decker, Director, School Approval and Accreditation, Department of Public Instruction, regarding waiver requests for a four-day school week
3:00 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons
3:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Layton W. Freborg (Chairman), Robert S. Erbele, Michael A. Every, Tim Flakoll, Gary A. Lee, Tom Seymour, Harvey Tallackson

Representatives C. B. Haas, Gil Herbel, Stacey Horter, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Mike Norland, John Wall, Steven L. Zaiser