NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMTITEE

Tuesday, July 11, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

| 9:00 a.m. | Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes from the previous meeting |
|------------|--|
| 9:05 a.m. | Presentation by Lt. Governor Jack Dalrymple regarding the efforts of the North Dakota Commission of Education Improvement |
| 9:50 a.m. | Presentation by Representative C. B. Haas regarding the efforts of the Finance and Taxation Committee |
| 10:00 a.m. | Coffee break |
| 10:15 a.m. | Presentations by Mr. Tom Decker, Director, School Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction; Mr. Kyle Davison, Coordinator, South East Education Cooperative; and Ms. Lois Myran, Coordinator, Roughrider Education Services Program, regarding educational associations governed by joint powers agreements |
| 11:15 a.m. | Presentation by Ms. Denise Wolf, Executive Director, Northeast Education Services Cooperative, regarding a proposed budget for educational associations governed by joint powers agreements |
| 11:45 a.m. | Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to educational associations governed by joint powers agreements |
| 12:00 noon | Luncheon recess |
| 1:00 p.m. | Presentation of reports by Department of Public Instruction staff members regarding the financial condition of school districts, requests for waivers of any rule governing the accreditation of schools, requests for waivers of instructional time requirements, notices received from school boards that voted not to use 70 percent of new money for teacher compensation, and school district employee compensation |
| 2:00 p.m. | Committee discussion |
| | Staff directives |
| 3:00 p.m. | Adjourn |

Committee Members

Senators Layton W. Freborg (Chairman), Robert S. Erbele, Michael A. Every, Tim Flakoll, Gary A. Lee, Tom Seymour, Harvey Tallackson

Representatives C. B. Haas, Gil Herbel, Stacey Horter, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Mike Norland, John Wall, Steven L. Zaiser