NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

FINANCE AND TAXATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, March 16, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.

Call to order

10.00 a.iii.	Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by Tax Department staff relating to estimates of income and sales tax growth and rate increase revenues, current tax revenues, school district mill rates, and the effect on property taxes of increased state funding
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding core curriculum spending of school districts and school districts' current mill rates and mill rates adjusted by additional state funding
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Senator Rich Wardner relating to options for committee consideration regarding funding and phasing in additional state funding to school districts to provide property tax relief
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Review of the agreement to stay litigation entered between the state and the school districts that filed suit against the state challenging the North Dakota public school finance system
1:10 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee study of enhanced funding for elementary and secondary education and methods to reduce reliance on property taxes to fund elementary and secondary education
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Representative Wesley R. Belter of a bill draft to prohibit future agreements for transfer of city or county home rules sales tax revenues to school districts
2:20 p.m.	Presentation by Representative Mark S. Owens of a bill draft to require the providing of more information to taxpayers with property tax statements
2:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
2:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Herb Urlacher (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Dwight Cook, Michael A. Every, Harvey Tallackson, Ben Tollefson, Rich Wardner

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, Kari Conrad, David Drovdal, Pam Gulleson, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Craig Headland, Gil Herbel, Ronald A. Iverson, Phillip Mueller, Kenton Onstad, Mark S. Owens, Arlo E. Schmidt, Dave Weiler, Clark Williams, Dwight Wrangham