NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

FINANCE AND TAXATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
10:05 a.m.	Comments by the committee chairman
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study of elementary and secondary education enhanced funding and reduced reliance on property taxes
10:50 a.m.	Coffee break
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction relating to current and historical school district funding
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Continued presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Marcy Dickerson, Tax Department, relating to current and historical information on property tax levies by school districts and to a request presented to the State Board of Equalization to restrict property tax valuation and liability increases
1:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons in attendance
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the school funding study
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study of alternatives to expressing property tax levies in mills per dollar of taxable valuation
2:20 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the study of alternatives to expressing property taxes in mills per dollar of taxable valuation
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Herb Urlacher (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Dwight Cook, Michael A. Every, Harvey Tallackson, Ben Tollefson, Rich Wardner

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, Kari Conrad, David Drovdal, Pam Gulleson, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Craig Headland, Gil Herbel, Ronald A. Iverson, Phillip Mueller, Kenton Onstad, Mark S. Owens, Arlo E. Schmidt, Dave Weiler, Clark Williams, Dwight Wrangham