NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES

Tuesday, August 29, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND REHABILITATION STRATEGIC PLAN

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding:
 - An update of the number of inmates by location and on the status of inmates housed in the private correctional facility in Appleton, Minnesota
 - The status of the department's 2007-09 biennium budget request and detailed information on its facility needs and related costs, including east cellhouse demolition costs that may be included in its budget request
 - Information regarding parole rates by category of offense, revocation rates, types of technical violations for parole and probation, inmate medical costs, and ShareHouse and Teen Challenge statistics
- 10:35 a.m. Comments by Representative Joe Kroeber, Chairman, Commission on Alternatives to Incarceration, and Representative Ron Carlisle, commission member, regarding the commission's activities to date
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding:
 - Other states' "meth prisons" Facilities used exclusively for inmates addicted to the drug methamphetamine
 - Information relating to Montana's prison system
 - Available state land in the Bismarck area
 - State lease payment limits and a comparison between state financing of a correctional facility and private prison financing with a buyback option
 - Alternatives identified by the committee for addressing incarceration and facility needs
- 11:15 a.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the state's incarceration and facility needs
- 11:30 a.m. Committee discussion regarding the future of North Dakota's incarceration and facility needs
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Committee discussion regarding the future of North Dakota's incarceration and facility needs

2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Al Carlson (Chairman), Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Kari Conrad, Duane DeKrey, Jeff Delzer, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Bette B. Grande, James Kerzman, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Ken Svedjan, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland Senators Duaine C. Espegard, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Stanley W. Lyson, Dave Nething