NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Monday, September 12, 2005 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure Comments by the chairman

UNIFORM TRUST CODE STUDY

- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4031--a study of the Uniform Trust Code
- 10:20 a.m. Videotape presentation regarding the Uniform Trust Code, prepared by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws
- 11:05 a.m. Presentation of comparison of the Uniform Trust Code and North Dakota trust law
- 11:10 a.m. Testimony and comments from interested persons regarding the Uniform Trust Code
- 11:25 a.m. Committee discussion

UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE ARTICLE 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS STUDY

- 11:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to a study directed by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4032--a study of Revised Article 1 of the Uniform Commercial Code General Provisions (2001)
- 11:40 a.m. Testimony and comments from interested persons regarding the Uniform Commercial Code Article 1 study
- 11:50 p.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

MARRIAGE LAWS STUDY

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 2 of Senate Bill No. 2361--a study of the state's marriage laws and methods for strengthening the institution of marriage in the state, including premarital requirements, such as marital education and counseling, waiting periods, and marital blood tests; the availability of marriage counseling and parenting education in the state; and the implementation of predivorce requirements, such as divorce-effects education
- 1:10 p.m. Testimony and comments from interested persons regarding the marriage laws study
- 1:40 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:00 p.m. Adjourn

Representatives Lois Delmore (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar

Senators Dick Dever, Stanley W. Lyson, Carolyn Nelson, John T. Traynor, Thomas L. Trenbeath