NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 18, 2007 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure Comments by the chairman

GAMING COMMISSION STUDY

- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4011--a study of the formation of a North Dakota gaming commission to regulate and control all forms of gaming in North Dakota
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Keith Lauer, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding the gaming commission study
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Chuck Keller, Director, North Dakota Lottery, regarding the gaming commission study
- 9:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Randy Blaseg, Director, North Dakota Racing Commission, regarding the gaming commission study
- 10:05 a.m. Testimony and comments by other interested persons regarding the gaming commission study
- 10:20 a.m. Break

ABSTRACTERS, TITLE OPINIONS, AND TITLE INSURANCE STUDY

- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 2 of Senate Bill No. 2217--a study of abstracters, title opinions, and title insurance
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Grant Shaft, Grand Forks, regarding the abstracters, title opinions, and title insurance study
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Phyllis Sutherland, President, North Dakota Land Title Association, regarding the abstracters, title opinions, and title insurance study
- 11:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dean Rindy, Fargo, regarding the abstracters, title opinions, and title insurance study
- 11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Steve Tomac, Farm Credit Services, regarding the abstracters, title opinions, and title insurance study
- 11:45 a.m. Testimony and comments by other interested persons regarding the abstracters, title opinions, and title insurance study
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

STATEWIDE AUTOMATED VICTIM INFORMATION AND NOTIFICATION SYSTEM

1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 2 of House Bill No. 1219--a study of the feasibility and desirability of establishing a statewide automated victim information and notification system

- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Pam Schafer, Information Technology Department, regarding the statewide automated victim information and notification system study
- 1:30 p.m. Testimony and comments by other interested persons regarding the statewide automated victim information and notification system study

CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION FUNDING STUDY

- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by House Concurrent Resolution No. 3048--a study of crime victims compensation funding
- 1:55 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding the crime victims compensation funding study
- 2:10 p.m. Testimony and comments by other interested persons regarding the crime victims compensation funding study

AUCTIONEER PRACTICES AND LAWS STUDY

- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 9 of Senate Bill No. 2008--a study of the practices and laws relating to the sale of real estate by auctioneers, including a review of the sale of multiple parcels of property at a single sale
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Auctioneers Association regarding the auctioneer practices and laws study
- 3:00 p.m. Testimony and comments from interested persons regarding the auctioneer practices and laws study
- 3:15 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
 - Future meeting dates
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Lawrence R. Klemin (Chairman), Randy Boehning, Stacey Dahl, Lois Delmore, Brenda Heller, Joyce Kingsbury, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Jasper Schneider, Lisa Wolf

Senators Tom Fiebiger, Stanley W. Lyson, Carolyn Nelson, Dave Nething, Dave Oehlke, Curtis Olafson