NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 2, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to eliminate individual income tax Form ND-2
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the fiscal effect of initiated measure No. 2 on the general election ballot relating to reductions of individual and corporate income tax rates
9:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee's study of the income tax laws
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to extend the deadline for county implementation of use of soil survey data in agricultural property assessments
9:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to committee monitoring of implementation of use of soil survey data in agricultural property assessments
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Senator Dwight Cook of an update on Streamlined Sales Tax Project activities
10:10 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jeff Engelson, Energy Development Impact Office, of a review of the 2008 oil and gas impact grant round
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on how other oil-producing states allocate funding to political subdivisions
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to remove statutory caps on allocations to the oil impact fund and political subdivisions under the oil and gas gross production tax
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by a Tax Department representative regarding the fiscal effect of the bill draft to remove caps on allocations to the oil impact fund and political subdivisions under the oil and gas gross production tax
11:15 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the study of allocation of oil and gas tax revenues to or for the benefit of political subdivisions
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department of information regarding trends in true and full valuation by property classification, comparison of effective tax rates for property classifications, and information on rural residences that were previously exempt from property taxes under the farm residence exemption
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee studies of property tax reform and relief and efficiencies of political subdivisions which may reduce property taxes

Adjourn

12:00 noon

Committee Members

Senators Bob Stenehjem (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Ben Tollefson, Constance Triplett, Herbert Urlacher

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Glen Froseth, Craig Headland, Gil Herbel, Jim Kasper, Scot Kelsh, Mark S. Owens, Arlo Schmidt, Benjamin A. Vig, Dave Weiler, Dwight Wrangham