NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

WORKFORCE COMMITTEE JOINT MEETING WITH HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE AND EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 Heritage Center Auditorium Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call
- 9:05 a.m. Introductory and welcoming comments by Senator Tony Grindberg, Chairman, Workforce Committee
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation of the United States Department of Commerce video of the 2008 National Summit on American Competitiveness, May 22, 2008
- 9:55 a.m. Break
- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Thomas P. Miller and Mr. Roy Vanderford, Thomas P. Miller and Associates, Greenfield, Indiana, of the executive summary of the Workforce Committee's workforce system study final report
- 11:40 a.m. Presentation by Senator Grindberg, Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, Higher Education Committee, and Representative RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Chairman, Education Committee, regarding workforce-related activities of their committees
- 12:15 p.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:15 p.m. Panel discussion regarding the state's workforce system, moderated by Dr. David Longanecker, President, Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education, with the following panelists:
 - Mr. David Farnsworth, Outage Manager, Great River Energy (energy sector)
 - Mr. Randy Hatzenbuhler, President, Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation (tourism sector)
 - Mr. Ken Behrendt, President, Eagle Creek Software (technology-based business sector)
 - Mr. Joe Rothschiller, President, Steffes Corporation (advanced manufacturing sector)
 - Mr. Matt Stockert, Warehouse and Logistics Manager, Cavendish Farms (valueadded agriculture sector)
 - Mr. Arnold R. Thomas, President, North Dakota Healthcare Association (health care industry)
 - Mr. Dave MacIver, President, North Dakota Chamber of Commerce

2:30 p.m. Break

- 2:45 p.m. Panel discussion regarding the state's workforce system, moderated by Dr. Longanecker, with the following panelists:
 - Mr. William G. Goetz, Chancellor, North Dakota University System
 - Dr. John Richman, President, State College of Science
 - Dr. Ellen Chaffee, President, Valley City State University
 - Mr. Lane Huber, Director of Distance Education, Bismarck State College
 - Dr. Robert H. Boyd, Vice President for Student and Outreach Services, University of North Dakota
 - Mr. John Skaare, Director, North Dakota Center for Distance Education
 - Mr. Jon Martinson, Executive Director, North Dakota School Boards Association
 - Mr. Wayne Kutzer, Director, Department of Career and Technical Education
- 4:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 4:15 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members Workforce Committee

Senators Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Dave Nething, Tom Seymour

Representatives Donald L. Clark, Stacey Dahl, Mary Ekstrom, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Nancy Johnson, George J. Keiser, Lisa Meier, Lee Myxter, Dan J. Ruby, Clark Williams, Steve Zaiser

Higher Education Committee

- Representatives Ken Svedjan, Lois Delmore, Kathy Hawken, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Jasper Schneider, Bob Skarphol, John D. Wall, Clark Williams
- Senators Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Larry J. Robinson

Education Committee

Representatives RaeAnn G. Kelsch, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Karen Karls, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Gary Sukut, Francis J. Wald, John D. Wall Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Layton W. Freborg, Gary A. Lee, Carolyn Nelson