# NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

# WORKFORCE COMMITTEE

Monday, October 29, 2007 Conference Room, JA Insurance Gwinner, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes of the September 6, 2007, meeting Welcome and comments by committee chairman Introductions

## **STUDIES AND REPORTS**

- 9:10 a.m. Presentations by representatives of the Department of Commerce regarding:
  - Annual business incentive report;
  - · Centers of excellence status report; and
  - Governor's Workforce Summit overview

Comments by interested persons

Committee questions and discussion

10:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dan Antrim, Plant Manager, and Mr. George Barrie, Human Resources, Bobcat, Gwinner plant, regarding an overview of plant activities, workforce experiences, and workforce projections

Comments by interested persons

Committee questions and discussion

11:00 a.m. Luncheon recess

Committee members are invited to eat lunch with the senior class of North Sargent School from 11:13 to 11:45 a.m. at North Sargent School, 16 First Street SW

- 12:30 p.m. Presentation by Dr. John Richman, President, and Mr. Dale Knutson, Dean of College Outreach, State College of Science, regarding:
  - Southeast quadrant training program;
  - College outreach; and
  - Career resource support programs

Comments by interested persons

Committee questions and discussion

1:30 p.m. Comments by representatives of the North Dakota League of Cities and the North Dakota Association of Counties regarding the economic impact of and the financing mechanisms used by job development authorities

Comments by interested persons

Committee questions and discussion

## FUTURE MEETING PLANNING

- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding:
  - Planning of workforce system initiative;
    - Future meeting dates; and
    - Future meeting agendas

### 2:45 p.m. Adjourn

Following adjournment, committee members are invited to tour the Gwinner Bobcat plant at 210 First Avenue NW. For safety purposes, no loose clothing or open-toe shoes are allowed on the tour.

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Tony Grindberg (Chairman), Ray Holmberg, Dave Nething, Tom Seymour Representatives Donald L. Clark, Stacey Dahl, Mary Ekstrom, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Nancy Johnson, George J. Keiser, Lisa Meier, Lee Myxter, Dan J. Ruby, Clark Williams, Steve Zaiser