NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 8, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of the minutes from the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to school approval
9:15 a.m.	Comments by others regarding the bill draft relating to school approval
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding North Dakota accreditation rules
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Angie Koppang, Midwest Regional Director, AdvancED, regarding school accreditation
11:30 a.m.	Comments by others
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Martin Griffith, President, Agassiz Education School Board, regarding the curriculum and assessments currently used by Agassiz Education, St. Vincent, Minnesota
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Val Fischer, Director, Coordinated School Health and Adult Education Unit, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the findings and recommendations of the Superintendent of Public Instruction's Advisory Committee on Truancy
2:15 p.m.	Break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Robert J. Parisien, Indian Education Program Administrator, Indian Affairs Commission, regarding the Indian Education Advisory Council
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Parisien regarding truancy and dropout prevention among American Indian students
3:10 p.m.	Comments by others Committee discussion Staff directives
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives David Monson (Chairman), Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Brenda Heller, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, Karen Karls, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Jerry Kelsh, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Phillip Mueller, Lee Myxter, David S. Rust, John D. Wall

Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Robert S. Erbele, Layton W. Freborg, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel