NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, October 6, 2009 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the chairman regarding committee studies
9:05 a.m.	Review of the Legislative Management supplementary rules of operation and procedure
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the approval and accreditation of schools
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Linda M. Paluck, Director, School Approval and Accreditation, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the approval and accreditation compliance process
10:30 a.m.	Break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding school closures and student transfers necessitated by natural or manmade causes
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jerry Coleman, Director of School Finance, Department of Public Instruction, regarding state aid payments to districts affected by school closures and student transfers necessitated by natural or manmade causes
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Paluck regarding the process for granting school rescheduling waivers under North Dakota Century Code Section 15.1-27-23
11:30 a.m.	Comments by others
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Kirby Kruger, State Epidemiologist, State Department of Health, regarding H1N1 pandemic influenza planning for schools
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding educational delivery to Indian students
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Robert Marthaller, Assistant Superintendent, Department of Public Instruction, regarding educational delivery to Indian students in North Dakota
2:30 p.m.	Break
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Scott J. Davis, Executive Director, Indian Affairs Commission, and Mr. Robert J. Parisien, Indian Education Program Administrator, Indian Affairs Commission, regarding educational delivery to Indian students in North Dakota
3:15 p.m.	Comments by others
	Committee discussion
	Staff directives
4:00 p.m.	Adjourn
4.00 p.111.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives David Monson (Chairman), Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Brenda Heller, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, Karen Karls, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Jerry Kelsh, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Phillip Mueller, Lee Myxter, David S. Rust, John D. Wall

Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Robert S. Erbele, Layton W. Freborg, Dave Oehlke