NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 20, 2009 Red River Valley Room, Student Center, State College of Science Wahpeton, North Dakota

- 8:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 17, 2009, meeting
- 8:05 a.m. Welcome and comments by Dr. John Richman, President, State College of Science

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY

8:10 a.m. Comments by the chairman regarding the committee meeting, including the focus on issues affecting two-year campuses

Presentations and discussion with representatives of North Dakota University System two-year institutions regarding:

- Access
- Affordability
- Educational attainment
- Programs addressing workforce needs
- Program costs, including potential funding options
- Potential program additions/deletions
- Unique issues affecting campuses
- Tuition waivers
- 8:20 a.m. State College of Science
- 9:40 a.m. Lake Region State College
- 10:15 a.m. Bismarck State College
- 10:50 a.m. Williston State College
- 11:25 a.m. Dakota College at Bottineau
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 12:45 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the use of an \$800,000 appropriation provided in 2009 Senate Bill No. 2003 to increase awareness of two-year colleges and technical careers
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the feasibility and desirability of offering two-year education programs at four-year institutions
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of higher education, including issues affecting two-year campuses
- 1:45 p.m. Continuation of discussions regarding topics relating to two-year campuses

- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Representatives Bob Skarphol (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams
- Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour