Revised 9/10/10

# NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

# **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Monday and Tuesday, September 13-14, 2010 House Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

#### Monday, September 13, 2010

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call

## HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, institutions of higher education, and the executive branch will join the committee for a Higher Education Roundtable discussion.

- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, Higher Education Committee, regarding the purpose and intended outcomes of the Higher Education Roundtable meeting
- 9:15 a.m. Introduction of roundtable members
- 9:20 a.m. Comments by Mr. Jon Backes, President, State Board of Higher Education, regarding the Higher Education Roundtable
- 9:30 a.m. Comments by Mr. William G. Goetz, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding the Higher Education Roundtable
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Doug Johnson, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, of an update of the activities of the North Dakota Commission on Education Improvement
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Dr. David Longanecker, President, Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education, Boulder, Colorado, regarding higher education funding
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Mark Schneider, Vice President, American Institutes for Research, Washington, D.C., regarding measures of productivity for North Dakota's higher education system
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Richard L. Petrick, former Vice Chancellor for Finance, Ohio Board of Regents, regarding higher education finance and the use of state resources
- 2:00 p.m. Panel discussion with Dr. Longanecker, Mr. Schneider, and Mr. Petrick regarding higher education issues
- 3:00 p.m. Roundtable discussion regarding potential goals and expectations of the North Dakota University System, including methods to measure success in achieving the goals
- 4:30 p.m. Recess

#### Tuesday, September 14, 2010

8:30 a.m. Reconvene

Roundtable discussion regarding higher education topics discussed at previous Higher Education Committee meetings

- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts to:
  - Extend the continuing appropriation of special revenue funds for the University System
  - Extend the authority to continue unspent general fund appropriations for the University System
  - Continue the requirement of a block grant format for University System budget requests and appropriations
- 10:20 a.m. Continued roundtable discussion
- 12:00 noon Conclusion of the Higher Education Roundtable

Luncheon recess

## **HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY**

- 1:00 p.m. Consideration of the minutes of the August 16, 2010, meeting
- 1:05 p.m. Committee discussion regarding the roundtable presentations and discussions, potential bill drafts regarding higher education, the future of higher education, and possible goals for the University System
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the University System of the 2009 Accountability Measures Report
- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 3:30 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

- Representatives Bob Skarphol (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams
- Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

#### **Higher Education Roundtable Members**

Jon Backes, Robert Badal, Dave Batcheller, John Bertel, Wayne Biberdorf, Melissa Bonner, Mike Bower, Dean Bresciani, Maren Daley, Kirsten Diederich, Duaine Espegard, Dave Farnsworth, David Fuller, John Girard, Shane C. Goettle, William G. Goetz, Ken Grosz, Gary Hagen, John Hamilton, Bob Harms, Micheal Haugen, Keith Hovland, Bill Isaacson, Mike Jacobs, Doyle Johannes, Robert Kelley, Wayne Kutzer, Claus Lembke, Richard McCallum, Don Morton, Ray Nadolny, Ron Rauschenberger, John Richman, Tom Ross, Joe Rothschiller, Wayne Sanstead, Grant Shaft, Steven Shirley, Larry Skogen, Richie Smith, Earl Strinden, Robert Wetsch

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor