## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## INDUSTRY, BUSINESS, AND LABOR COMMITTEE

Wednesday, April 28, 2010 North Dakota Heritage Center Auditorium, 612 East Boulevard Avenue Bismarck, North Dakota

- 8:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 18, 2010, meeting
- 8:05 a.m. Presentations and discussion regarding federal health care reform legislation and the impact of federal proposals on the state of North Dakota
  - Mr. Michael Tanner, Cato Institute
  - Ms. Joy Johnson Wilson, National Conference of State Legislatures
  - Mr. Josh Goldberg, National Association of Insurance Commissioners
  - Ms. Melissa Bianchi, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
- 10:15 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentations and discussion regarding federal health care reform legislation and the impact of federal proposals on the state of North Dakota
  - Mr. Adam W. Hamm, Insurance Commissioner
  - Ms. Maggie Anderson, Department of Human Services
  - Ms. Arvy Smith, State Department of Health
  - Mr. Sparb Collins, North Dakota Public Employees Retirement System
- 12:15 p.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:15 p.m. Presentations and discussion regarding federal health care reform legislation and the impact of federal proposals on the state of North Dakota
  - Mr. Bruce Levi, North Dakota Medical Association
  - Mr. Paul von Ebers or Mr. Rod St. Aubyn, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota
  - A representative of the North Dakota Hospital Association
- 2:30 p.m. Presentations and discussion regarding federal health care reform legislation and the impact of federal proposals on the state of North Dakota
  - Mr. Dale Preszler, OSI, Inc.
  - Mr. Randy Hauck, Envision Consulting, Inc.
  - Mr. Eric Aasmundstad, North Dakota Farm Bureau
- 3:30 p.m. Break
- 3:45 p.m. Presentations and discussion regarding the practice of medicine in the United States by Canadian physicians and pharmaceutical industry functions in Canada and the extent to which there are differences in patient access to innovative medicines between Canada and the United States
  - Dr. William Canham, Medcenter One Health Systems
  - Dr. Wayne Taylor, Health Leadership Institute, McMaster University

- 4:45 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 5:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives George J. Keiser (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Rick Berg, Tracy Boe, Donald L. Clark, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hogan, Jim Kasper, Scot Kelsh, Dan Ruby, Mike Schatz, Elwood Thorpe, Don Vigesaa, Steven L. Zaiser

Senators Arthur H. Behm, David Hogue, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Terry M. Wanzek

Staff Contact: John Bjornson, Counsel