NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

INDUSTRY, BUSINESS, AND LABOR COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 6, 2009 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Management supplementary rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by Chairman George J. Keiser
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the committee's study of the state's whistleblower law
9:20 a.m.	Comments by interested individuals regarding the committee's study of the state's whistleblower law
10:15 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of background information relating to the committee's study of factors impacting the cost of health insurance and health insurance company reserves
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Adam W. Hamm, Insurance Commissioner, regarding regulation of health insurers in this state
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Hamm regarding federal health coverage legislation
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Rod St. Aubyn, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota, regarding the committee's study of factors impacting the cost of health insurance and health insurance company reserves
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mike Thielen, PreferredOne, regarding the committee's study of factors impacting the cost of health insurance and health insurance company reserves
3:00 p.m.	Break
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bruce Levi, Executive Director, North Dakota Medical Association, regarding the committee's study of factors impacting the cost of health insurance and health insurance company reserves
3:45 p.m.	Comments by interested individuals
4:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
4:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives George J. Keiser (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Rick Berg, Tracy Boe, Donald L. Clark, Mark A. Dosch, Jim Kasper, Scot Kelsh, Dan Ruby, Mike Schatz, Jasper J. Schneider, Elwood Thorpe, Don Vigesaa, Steven L. Zaiser

Senators Arthur H. Behm, David Hogue, Dave Oehlke, Tracy Potter, Terry M. Wanzek