NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIAL PROCESS COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 17, 2009 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call

Review of Legislative Management supplementary rules of operation and procedure Comments by the chairman

MENTAL HEALTH AND SEXUALLY DANGEROUS INDIVIDUAL COMMITMENT COSTS STUDY

- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 1 of House Bill No. 1497--a study of the feasibility and desirability of transferring from the county to the state the responsibility for the cost of and responsibility for providing legal counsel in cases involving the commitment of sexually dangerous individuals--and Section 1 of Senate Bill No. 2370--a study of the feasibility and desirability of transferring from the county to the state the responsibility for the cost of expert examinations and the cost and responsibility for providing legal counsel in mental health commitment cases
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Aaron Birst, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding the mental health and sexually dangerous individual commitment costs study
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Robin Huseby, Director, Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents, regarding the mental health and sexually dangerous individual commitment costs study
- 9:40 a.m. Testimony and comments from other interested persons regarding the mental health and sexually dangerous individual commitment costs study

INVOLUNTARY MENTAL HEALTH COMMITMENT PROCEDURES STUDY

- 9:50 a.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 3 of Senate Bill No. 2421--a study of the involuntary mental health commitment procedures under North Dakota Century Code Chapter 25-03.1
- 10:00 a.m. Testimony and comments from interested persons regarding the involuntary mental health commitment procedures study
- 10:15 a.m. Break

OMBUDSMAN PROGRAM FOR CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES STUDY

- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Section 2 of Senate Bill No. 2420--a study of the establishment of an ombudsman program for consumers of child and family services
- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Tara Muhlhauser, Department of Human Services, regarding services available for consumers of child and family services
- 10:45 a.m. Presentations by Mr. John Ford and other representatives of the North Dakota Coalition for CPS and Foster Care Reform, regarding the ombudsman program for child and family services study
- 11:35 a.m. Testimony and comments from other interested persons regarding the ombudsman program for child and family services study

11:45 a.m. Presentations by Ms. Sharon Parsley and other interested persons regarding the lack of immunity protections for lay guardians ad litem in the state

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

CHILD SUPPORT OBLIGATIONS AND ENFORCEMENT STUDY

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the studies directed by Section 9 of House Bill No. 1012--a study of the Department of Human Services' child support enforcement program--and Section 1 of Senate Bill No. 2420--a study of child support determination of income and support obligations, the feasibility and desirability of the establishment of an ombudsman program, and coordination of services and resources for parents

1:10 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Mike Schwindt, Director, Child Support Enforcement Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the state's child support system

3:00 p.m. Testimony and comments from other interested persons regarding the child support obligations and enforcement study

3:20 p.m. Committee discussion Future meeting dates

3:40 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Shirley Meyer (Chairman), Stacey Dahl, Lois Delmore, Chris Griffin, Nancy Johnson, Joyce M. Kingsbury, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Lisa Wolf Senators Arden C. Anderson, Tom Fiebiger, Tom Fischer, Judy Lee, Stanley W. Lyson, Tim Mathern, Curtis Olafson, Jim Pomeroy