NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIAL PROCESS COMMITTEE

Monday, December 14, 2009 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the September 17, 2009, meeting

INVOLUNTARY MENTAL HEALTH COMMITMENT PROCEDURES STUDY

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Emmet M. Kenney Jr., Prairie St. John's, regarding issues and concerns with the state's mental health commitment procedures and the availability of psychiatric services in the state
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Andrew McLean, Medical Director, Department of Human Services, regarding concerns with the state's mental health commitment procedures and the availability of psychiatric services in the state
- 10:05 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Psychiatric Society regarding concerns with the state's mental health commitment procedures and the availability of psychiatric services in the state
- 10:35 a.m. Break
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Gary E. Euren, Cass County State's Attorney's office, regarding concerns with the state's mental health commitment procedures and related issues
- 11:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Tim Sauter, Regional Director, Badlands Human Service Center, regarding mental health services and issues and concerns related to those services
- 12:00 noon Presentation via telephone by Honorable Sonja Clapp, District Judge, Northeast Central Judicial District, regarding issues and concerns with the state's mental health commitment procedures
- 12:30 p.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Protection and Advocacy Project regarding issues and concerns with the state's mental health commitment procedures
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by representatives of MeritCare Health Systems regarding mental health commitment issues
- 2:15 p.m. Presentation by representatives of Fargo and West Fargo law enforcement regarding mental health commitment issues
- 2:45 p.m. Testimony from other interested persons regarding the mental health commitment procedures and availability of psychiatric services study
- 3:15 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:45 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Shirley Meyer (Chairman), Stacey Dahl, Lois Delmore, Chris Griffin, Nancy Johnson, Joyce M. Kingsbury, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Lisa Wolf Senators Arden C. Anderson, Tom Fiebiger, Tom Fischer, Judy Lee, Stanley W. Lyson, Tim Mathern, Curtis Olafson, Jim Pomeroy

Staff Contact: Vonette J. Richter, Counsel