NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, August 24, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a revised bill draft to provide property tax relief through income tax credits
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kathy Strombeck, Research Analyst, Tax Department, regarding fiscal effect of the bill draft to provide property tax relief through income tax credits
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by a Tax Department representative regarding administrative issues relating to property tax relief through income tax credits
9:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the bill draft to provide property tax relief through income tax credits
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a bill draft to provide property tax relief through allocations to school districts
10:20 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the bill draft to provide property tax relief through allocations to school districts
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a revised bill draft to clarify property tax exemption status of subsidized housing
10:40 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the bill draft to clarify property tax exemption status of subsidized housing
10:50 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sara Meier, Property Tax Specialist, Tax Department, on the status of county compliance with required soil survey implementation in agricultural property assessments
11:05 a.m.	Comments by interested county officials in attendance regarding the deadline for implementation of soil surveys in agricultural property assessments
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a bill draft relating to penalties for counties that fail to meet the deadline for implementation of soil surveys in agricultural property assessments
11:25 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the bill draft relating to penalties for counties that fail to meet the deadline for implementation of soil surveys in agricultural property assessments
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of memorandums on tax increment financing for blighted areas and the possibility of overlapping territory for a renaissance zone and a tax increment financing district
11:50 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a bill draft to prevent property from being included in both a renaissance zone and a tax increment financing district

12:00 noon

Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jerry Hjelmstad, Assistant Director, North Dakota League of Cities, relating to tax increment financing district fund balances, plan contents, and properties
1:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to renaissance zone and tax increment financing district issues
2:00 p.m.	Break
2:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jim Guilinger, Entree Gold, regarding uranium mining processes and company plans for North Dakota activities
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ryan Rauschenberger, Deputy Tax Commissioner, of a bill draft for taxation of potash
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, relating to the discount applied to prices for North Dakota crude oil
2:55 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jeff Engleson, Director, Energy Development Impact Office, relating to 2010 oil impact grants
3:25 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Marcy Dickerson, State Supervisor of Assessments, Tax Department, relating to county road levy issues
3:40 p.m.	Presentation by a Tax Department representative relating to allocations of oil and gas gross production taxes to political subdivisions for fiscal year 2010
4:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
4:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Jim Dotzenrod, Joe Miller, George Nodland, Tracy Potter, Bob Stenehjem, Constance Triplett

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Robert Frantsvog, Glen Froseth, Craig Headland, Jim Kasper, Scot Kelsh, Louis Pinkerton, Arlo Schmidt, Gary R. Sukut, Dave Weiler, Lonny Winrich, Dwight Wrangham

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Code Revisor