## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## Tentative Agenda

## **TAXATION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, September 15, 2010 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jerry Hjelmstad, Assistant Director, North Dakota League of Cities, relating to tax increment financing district issues
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a bill draft to provide tax increment financing district restrictions
9:40 a.m.	Comments by interested persons in attendance
9:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the bill draft to provide tax increment financing district restrictions
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a memorandum on federal flood control mineral lease revenue allocation
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a bill draft relating to federal flood control mineral lease revenue allocation
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of update information on Enbridge pipeline oil transportation service
10:50 a.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of information on oil tax revenue allocations for 2009-10
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Carlee McLeod, Deputy State Treasurer, on cities that reached the \$750 per capita cap on oil and gas gross production tax allocations
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Mary Loftsgard, Associate Director, Tax Administration, Tax Department, regarding Uniform Division of Income Tax Act issues
11:20 a.m.	Discussion of streamlined sales tax issues and sales tax application for online travel companies
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Donnita Wald, Counsel, Tax Department, relating to Mobile Workforce Act issues relevant to North Dakota
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion of studies of providing a homestead credit for all residential property and the equity of the 911 fee structure
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, regarding state efforts to assess impacts of oil and gas development
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a memorandum on property tax application to potash and other subsurface minerals

1:40 p.m.	Presentation by committee counsel of a bill draft to provide for taxation of potash and byproducts
1:50 p.m.	Comments by interested persons in attendance
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the potash and byproducts taxation bill draft
2:10 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Jim Dotzenrod, Joe Miller, George Nodland, Tracy Potter, Bob Stenehjem, Constance Triplett

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Robert Frantsvog, Glen Froseth, Craig Headland, Jim Kasper, Scot Kelsh, Louis Pinkerton, Arlo Schmidt, Gary R. Sukut, Dave Weiler, Lonny Winrich, Dwight Wrangham

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Code Revisor