NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WORKFORCE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, May 26, 2010 Room 370, Richard H. Barry Hall, North Dakota State University Fargo, North Dakota

0.00	• "
9:00 a.m.	Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the previous meetings

Comments by Chairman Tony S. Grindberg

9:15 a.m. Welcome by Mr. Craig Whitney, President and CEO, Chamber of Commerce of Fargo Moorhead

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Eric Johnson, CEO, Avenet, regarding the eFolio web-based portfolio management system

10:30 a.m. Break

10:45 a.m. Comments by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding:

- · eFolio;
- TrainND--the workforce training quadrant program; and
- Resident and nonresident students

11:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jim Hirsch, Director, Division of Workforce Development, Department of Commerce, regarding an update on the activities of the North Dakota Workforce Development Council

Presentation by Mr. Hirsch and Ms. Maren Daley, Executive Director, Job Service North Dakota, providing an update on the Workforce 20/20 program

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding the results of the survey of center of excellence private sector partners

1:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, regarding the North Dakota Economic Development Foundation's strategic plan for economic development and related accountability standards, measurements, and benchmarks to evaluate the Department of Commerce's effectiveness of implementing the strategic plan

Presentation by Mr. Goettle and Mr. Thomas P. Miller, Thomas P. Miller and Associates, regarding the Department of Commerce and Centers of Excellence Commission best practices review of the centers of excellence program

- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. G. Michael Alder, Chairman, National Centers of Excellence, regarding an overview of national best practices for centers of excellence
- 3:30 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Bill Krivarchka, Director, Eastern North Dakota Area Health Education Center, regarding the status of the workforce activities of the Eastern North Dakota Area Health Education Center
- 4:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Tony S. Grindberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Tom Seymour, Ryan M. Taylor

Representatives Donald L. Clark, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Lee Myxter, Michael R. Nathe, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel