## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## WORKFORCE COMMITTEE

Monday, September 27, 2010 Idea Lab, Ina Mae Rude Entrepreneur Center, University of North Dakota Grand Forks, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Chairman Tony S. Grindberg
- 9:15 a.m. Welcoming remarks by Dr. Robert Kelley, President, University of North Dakota, and Mr. Keith Lund, Grand Forks Region Economic Development
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kayla Effertz, Governor's office, and representatives of the North Dakota Youth Council of the report from the North Dakota Youth Council

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

- 11:00 a.m. Break
- 11:10 a.m. Committee review of a bill draft regarding funding of academic scholarships and North Dakota career and technical education scholarships and a concurrent resolution providing for a constitutional amendment to allow for foundation aid stabilization fund funding of academic scholarships and North Dakota career and technical education scholarships

Comments by interested individuals regarding the two legislative measures

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Larry Anderson, representing the National Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), regarding the role and purpose of the ESGR and the ESGR Statement of Support Program

Ceremonial signing by Chairman Grindberg of an ESGR Statement of Support

- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. William G. Goetz, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding enrollment figures for the North Dakota institutions of higher education
- 1:25 p.m. Comments by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, regarding activities of the department and regarding the committee bill drafts
- 1:55 p.m. Committee review of bill drafts

Comments by interested individuals regarding the bill drafts

- Creation of technology-based economic development programs
- Creation of a technology impact zone program
- Creation of a grant program for university entrepreneurs
- Modification of the reporting requirements under the centers of excellence program
- Creation of a North Dakota Development Fund, Inc., program for technology startup businesses

- Creation of an electronic portfolio pilot program and modifications to the new jobs training program, TrainND program, and Project Intern program
- Creation of tax credits for purchases of manufacturing machinery and equipment for the purpose of automating manufacturing processes and for qualified expenditures for lean manufacturing
- Providing for transferability of angel fund investment tax credits and allowing for passthrough entities to access these credits
- Modification of the powers and duties of the State Auditor, relating to performance audits
- Supporting the Northern Tier Network
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Tony S. Grindberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Tom Seymour, Ryan M. Taylor

Representatives Donald L. Clark, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Lee Myxter, Michael R. Nathe, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel