NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WORKFORCE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, October 7, 2009 Red River Valley Room, Student Center, State College of Science Wahpeton, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Chairman Tony S. Grindberg
- 9:15 a.m. Comments by Dr. John Richman, President, State College of Science, relating to economic development
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dan Hodgson, Southern Valley Innovation Center, regarding technology-based entrepreneurship in southeast North Dakota
- 10:30 a.m. Break
- 10:45 a.m. Comments via teleconference by Mr. Gregory Deason, President, Association of University Research Parks, and Director of the Purdue Research Park, regarding certified research parks
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Comments by Dr. Phillip Boudjouk, Vice President for Research, North Dakota State University, and Dr. Barry Milavetz, Vice President for Research and Economic Development, University of North Dakota, regarding North Dakota Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research and research activities at institutions of higher education
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, regarding the performance audit of the Department of Commerce and the centers of excellence
- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Goettle regarding technology-based economic development efforts of the Department of Commerce
- 3:15 p.m. Comments by interested individuals
- 3:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Tony S. Grindberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Tom Seymour, Ryan M. Taylor

Representatives Donald L. Clark, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Lee Myxter, Michael R. Nathe, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams