## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Bob Skarphol, Higher Education Committee Chairman; Senator Tony S. Grindberg, Workforce Committee Chairman; and Representative David Monson, Education Committee Chairman, have called a joint meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE, WORKFORCE COMMITTEE, and EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Time: 8:30 a.m.

Place: House Chamber, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by a representative of Brigham Young University regarding technology and the open source movement; by a representative of ACT, Inc., regarding job skills assessment systems; by representatives of the International Association for K-12 Online Learning and The Citistates Group regarding the use of technology in education; and by representatives of the Department of Commerce regarding the draft economic development strategic plan; and updates regarding the activities of the interim Higher Education, Workforce, and Education Committees

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

## Committee Members:

Higher Education Committee - Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Workforce Committee - Senators Tony S. Grindberg, Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Tom Seymour, Ryan M. Taylor; Representatives Donald L. Clark, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Lee Myxter, Michael R. Nathe, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

**Education Committee** - Representatives David Monson, Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Brenda Heller, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, Karen Karls, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Jerry Kelsh, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Phillip Mueller, Lee Myxter, David S. Rust, John D. Wall; Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Robert S. Erbele, Layton W. Freborg, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel L. Anita Thomas, Counsel

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/CS