December 31, 2009

MEETING NOTICE

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

- Date: Tuesday and Wednesday, January 19-20, 2010
- Time:
 9:00 a.m., Tuesday, January 19, 2010

 8:30 a.m., Wednesday, January 20, 2010
- Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- **Agenda:** Comments and discussion with representatives of North Dakota University System four-year institutions regarding higher education topics, including program evaluation procedures, faculty engagement and evaluation, student involvement, higher education funding, the future of higher education, tuition waivers, and workforce needs; and presentations by representatives of the University System regarding the evaluation of higher education data collected, tuition waivers, the estimated economic impact of higher education students, estimated 2009-10 academic year revenue collections at campuses, remedial education, online course enrollment and revenue at each institution, distance education classes, adult learners and disadvantaged students, delinquent student loans at campuses, the status of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 grants, an update on the University System initiative for increasing awareness of two-year institutions and careers, an update on the State Board of Higher Education institutional missions task force, and an update on the activities of the North Dakota State University presidential search committee
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour
- **Staff Contacts:** Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AC