May 27, 2010

MEETING NOTICE

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**.

- **Date:** Thursday and Friday, June 10-11, 2010
- Time: 8:30 a.m.
- **Place:** Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the State Auditor's office regarding the North Dakota University System financial audit and the performance audit on University System capital projects; by representatives of the University System regarding responses to major audit findings; an overview of the University System's annual financial report; policies regarding capital projects; information regarding institution development foundations, including financial relationships between institutions and development foundations; an update on institution capital projects; the history of the University System office; 2009-10 tuition revenue and enrollment estimates; 2009-10 budgeted and actual expenditures; funding for major functional areas by campus; differences among campuses for functional building uses; the number of employees at each institution; institution viability ratios; campus debt; capital building leases; the University System long-term finance plan and funding differences between institutions and their peer benchmarks; information regarding the feasibility of limiting enrollment at institutions; a report regarding salaries and student enrollment pursuant to Section 5 of 2009 Senate Bill No. 2038; the 2011-13 biennium budget request of the University System; and University System 2011-13 biennium capital building project requests, including the format of the requests; comments by representatives of the University of North Dakota and North Dakota State University regarding the performance audit on University System capital building projects; and the distribution of a summary of reports filed with the Legislative Council office regarding grants provided to tribal colleges under North Dakota Century Code Chapter 15-70
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL