MEETING NOTICE

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Thursday, July 8, 2010

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of Bismarck State College regarding online education; by representatives of the Indian Affairs Commission regarding completion rates of students at tribal colleges and efforts made to correct audit deficiencies at tribal colleges; and by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding an update of the two-year campuses' marketing plan, new full-time equivalent positions requested in the 2011-13 University System budget request, the amount of funding provided for ConnectND staff positions and for the placement of students in the Kansas State University veterinary medical education program, the amount of funding provided to North Dakota State University from the North Dakota State University Development Foundation by major program area, the University System employee code of conduct policy, an overview of the missions of institutions, goals and objectives of the campus presidents and chancellor, an update on the activities of the State Board of Higher Education Mission Review Task Force, admissions requirements at institutions, the quantifiable objectives of the University System strategic plan, the tenure process for higher education faculty, an overview of the state grant program, an overview of the technology occupations loan forgiveness program, and an overview of tuition reciprocity agreements with other states and organizations and committee discussion regarding potential future changes to higher education in the state

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL