August 4, 2010

MEETING NOTICE

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**.

- Date: Monday, August 16, 2010
- **Time:** 9:00 a.m.
- Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentations by a representative of the Information Technology Department regarding the statewide longitudinal data system; by a representative of the Department of Commerce regarding the centers of excellence program; by a representative of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences regarding the RuralMed program and an update on the status of the Bismarck Family Practice Center project; by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the final ranking of capital projects for the 2011-13 biennium budget request, an overview of retirement plans for University System employees and proposed changes to the plans, institution policies to notify student loan lenders of student enrollment status, the status of the development of a remedial education plan by the State Board of Higher Education, and comments regarding the role of the State Board of Higher Education and Budget Section in approving capital projects; by a representative of the State Auditor's office regarding policies in other states for agencies that fail to implement audit recommendations and comments regarding the role of the State Board of Higher Education and Budget Section in approving capital projects; by a representative of the American Indian Language Preservation Committee regarding the activities of the committee; and other presentations, including presentations by the Legislative Council staff of memorandums regarding the role of the Budget Section in approving capital projects and the history of legislation authorizing high school students to enroll in postsecondary courses
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- Committee Members: Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AC