October 1, 2010

## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**.

- Date: Wednesday, October 13, 2010
- Time: 9:00 a.m.
- **Place:** Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding a report of academic scholarships and career and technical education scholarships, the 2009 Accountability Measures Report, postsecondary consumer protection for higher education, an update on the activities of the State Board of Higher Education Mission Review Task Force, an update on grant funding received through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, potential deficiency appropriations to be requested by institutions, student scholarships resulting from institution foundation support, professions that require competency in mathematics, the development of an internal audit plan, and policies for requesting funding for infrastructure repairs and maintenance; by a representative of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences Advisory Council of an update on the development of a report to provide recommendations for the School of Medicine pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 15-52-04; by a representative of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences regarding the demographics of medical school students, residency openings for medical school students, and the demographics of physicians practicing in the state; and other presentations, including presentations by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding higher education capital projects and of a bill draft to provide for a higher education study during the 2011-12 interim
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL