MEETING NOTICE

Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, has called a meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda:

Presentations by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the University System strategic plan, recommendations for improving University System governance, potential changes to the presentation of University System budget requests, the missions of University System institutions and potential changes, the annual financial report of the University System, and the effectiveness of centers of excellence; a presentation by representatives of the State Auditor's office regarding the internal control and compliance report on the audit of the University System's financial statements and the audit of the University System office; and discussion with members of the State Board of Higher Education regarding the 1999-2000 Higher Education Roundtable report, a new funding mechanism for higher education, higher education transparency measures, higher education funding provided based on productivity, higher education incentive funding, higher education accessibility and affordability, using the University System as a source of economic development, and the use of the Higher Education Roundtable in the future and ways to increase communication between the State Board of Higher Education and the Legislative Assembly

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Bob Skarphol, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/JFB