## **MEETING NOTICE**

Senator David O'Connell, Chairman, has called a meeting of the PUBLIC SAFETY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.

Wednesday, March 17, 2010 Date:

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Harvest Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Department of Transportation regarding the department's TransAction II plan, the collection of motor fuels taxes from interstate commercial motor vehicle carriers, federal funding available for the 2010 construction season, options for future highway funding, 2007-09 highway funding distributions, amendments to the statewide transportation improvement program, and the development of public transportation coordination pilot projects; by representatives of the North Dakota Highway Patrol regarding truck rear-end protection requirements; by representatives of the North Dakota Association of Counties regarding the use of oil and gas production taxes by counties and townships for infrastructure, the use of 911 fees collected by counties, and an update on enhanced 911 services in the state; by representatives of the Department of Emergency Services regarding fees charged for State Radio services, funding received by public safety answering points, and the status of the implementation of a computer-aided dispatch system; by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding the use of funding for emergency medical training grants for rural law enforcement agencies, a status report on the retention of a consultant to study emergency medical services issues, licensure requirements of ambulance services and quick response units, an update on the potential loss of funding from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and information on the process used by ambulance services to bill patients; by representatives of the North Dakota EMS Association regarding options for funding emergency medical services based on service areas; by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding Medicaid funding for ambulance services; and other presentations, including presentations by the Legislative Council staff of memorandums regarding funding for rural fire departments, funding for ambulance services, temporary motor vehicle registration requirements, historical highway funding, and the ability of counties to levy and collect overweight vehicle fees

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators David O'Connell, Dwight Cook, Gary A. Lee, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, George Nodland; Representatives Edmund Gruchalla, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Michael R. Nathe, Todd Porter, Arlo Schmidt, Elwood Thorpe, Gerry Uglem, Don Vigesaa, Robin Weisz

**Staff Contacts:** Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst
Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/JFB