MEETING NOTICE

Senator David O'Connell, Chairman, has called a meeting of the PUBLIC SAFETY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Centennial Alumni Center, Thatcher Hall, Dakota College at Bottineau, Bottineau

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding emergency medical services (EMS) on Indian reservations, the distribution of grants to rural ambulance services, and a report on the status of the retention of a consultant to study EMS; by representatives of local ambulance services regarding funding and other issues affecting EMS; by a representative of the North Dakota EMS Association regarding a statewide funding plan for EMS; by a representative of the Nelson County Sheriff's Department regarding federal homeland security grant funding; by representatives of the Department of Emergency Services regarding federal homeland security grants and allowing law enforcement agencies to access national law enforcement databases using alternative methods; by representatives of local public safety answering points regarding 911 services and infrastructure; by representatives of the Department of Transportation regarding temporary license permits, commercial driver's licenses, the federal REAL ID and PASS ID Acts, fuel sales, line item transfers, and highwayrail grade crossing safety grants; by representatives of local counties regarding local infrastructure concerns; and by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to implement a statewide funding formula for EMS, of a bill draft to create an infrastructure fund for political subdivisions affected by energy development, and of a memorandum regarding collections of fines from the enforcement of overweight vehicle laws

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators David O'Connell, Dwight Cook, Gary A. Lee, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, George Nodland; Representatives Edmund Gruchalla, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Michael R. Nathe, Todd Porter, Arlo Schmidt, Elwood Thorpe, Gerry Uglem, Don Vigesaa, Robin Weisz

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/AL