## **MEETING NOTICE**

Senator David O'Connell, Chairman, has called a meeting of the PUBLIC SAFETY AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Thursday, September 23, 2010

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by a representative of the Department of Transportation regarding overweight vehicle permit fees and a report on the use of highway funding; by a representative of the Department of Emergency Services regarding an update on the study of Next Generation 911, the use of funding designated for alternatives to constructing new State Radio tower sites, the status of the implementation of a State Radio tower site near Wales, and of a report regarding emergency disaster relief grants provided to political subdivisions; by a representative of the Emergency Services Communications Coordinating Committee regarding recommended statutory changes for emergency communications; by a representative of the State Department of Health of an overview of the emergency medical services staffing grant program and an update on the rural emergency medical services improvement project; and other presentations, including presentations by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts relating to overweight vehicle permit violations in home rule counties, oil impact-related infrastructure development grants, motor vehicle excise tax allocations, appropriations from the permanent oil tax trust fund to the highway tax distribution fund and the state highway fund, the allocation of fees assessed to operators of overweight vehicles, fees charged for the use of the law enforcement teletype system and the operational costs of providing access to the state message switch for entities that utilize wireless access cards for mobile data systems, emergency services communications systems, and funding for emergency medical services

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators David O'Connell, Dwight Cook, Gary A. Lee, Elroy N. Lindaas, Richard Marcellais, George Nodland; Representatives Edmund Gruchalla, Bob Hunskor, Jerry Kelsh, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, William E. Kretschmar, Bob Martinson, Michael R. Nathe, Todd Porter, Arlo Schmidt, Elwood Thorpe, Gerry Uglem, Don Vigesaa, Robin Weisz

**Staff Contacts:** Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director JWS/CS