NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 18, 2011 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Opening remarks by the chairman Review of Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tony Clark, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, on recent activities of and issues before the Public Service Commission
9:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Alan Anderson, Commissioner of Commerce, on the activities of and issues before the Energy Policy Commission
9:50 a.m.	Break
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, on an oil and gas update
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Director, North Dakota Transmission Authority, on recent activities with and issues relating to transmission and federal regulation of coal
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dave Glatt, Environmental Section Chief, State Department of Health, on issues with the Environmental Protection Agency and regional haze
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Justin Kringstad, Director, North Dakota Pipeline Authority, on recent activities with and issues relating to pipelines
11:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dale Niezwaag, Senior Legislative Representative, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, on carbon capture projects and transmission issues
11:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Francis Ziegler, Director, Department of Transportation, on road construction and conditions in western North Dakota
11:50 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of a comprehensive energy policy
1:20 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
1:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Lonnie J. Laffen, Stanley W. Lyson, Ryan M. Taylor, John Warner

Representatives Michael D. Brandenburg, Scot Kelsh, Shirley Meyer, Todd Porter, Mike Schatz, Gary R. Sukut

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel