NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FUNDING AND TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 26, 2011 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the chairman
9:05 a.m.	Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding short-term and longer term state involvement in funding elementary and secondary education
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding legislative efforts to reduce property taxes
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jerry Coleman, Director of School Finance, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the impact of property tax reduction dollars on the education funding formula
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Marcy Dickerson, State Supervisor of Assessments, and Director, Property Tax Division, Tax Department, regarding the taxation of real property and the provisions of initiated measure No. 2
10:20 a.m.	Break
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the sponsoring committee for initiated measure No. 2 regarding the intent and effect of the measure
11:15 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Tamara Uselman, Superintendent, Bismarck Public School District, regarding the impact of 2011 flooding on school district property, school district staff, and student placement
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Vollmer, Superintendent, Minot Public School District, regarding the impact of 2011 flooding on school district property, school district staff, and student placement
1:40 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding concussion management with respect to youth athletics
1:50 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives RaeAnn G. Kelsch (Chairman), Bette Grande, Craig Headland, Bob Hunskor Senators Dwight Cook, Tim Flakoll, Joan Heckaman, Gary A. Lee

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel