## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 25, 2012 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

A live webcast of this committee meeting will be available as follows:

- Step 1. Prior to the first-time viewing of a State Department of Health webcast, please check that your computer has the necessary software installed. Follow the www.ndhealth.gov/webcasthtml/preflight for a test. Ideally, this should be done as soon as possible to avoid issues at the beginning of the webcast.
- Follow the link www.ndhealth.gov/WebcastHigh.asx. The feed normally starts 15 minutes before the scheduled time.

North Dakota residents may check the schedules for their local television provider to determine whether the meeting is being broadcast on television.

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Approval of the minutes from the previous meeting

9:05 a.m. Remarks by Chairman Keiser

## AFFORDABLE CARE ACT

- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff providing a summary of the recent decision of the United States Supreme Court regarding the constitutionality of the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA)
- Testimony by Mr. Adam W. Hamm, Insurance Commissioner, Insurance Department, 9:20 a.m. regarding the ACA, including:
  - Update on the status of the ACA external review process application for approval
  - Presentation of a report comparing the essential health benefits benchmark plans
  - Review of the essential health benefits deadlines and options
  - Review of health benefit exchange deadlines, the status of states' implementation of the health benefit exchange requirements under the ACA, and the state's options for administration of the state's health benefit exchange

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

10:20 a.m. Testimony by Ms. Tami Ternes, Governor's office, regarding the Governor's position on

the state's implementation of the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

10:40 a.m. Break 10:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Maggie Anderson, Director, Medical Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of the department's implementation of the ACA and the issues related to the state's option to expand Medicaid under the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

11:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Jenny Witham, Director, Information Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of the computer and technology-related elements of the ACA

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

11:50 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding the authority of the state's executive branch to obligate the state to administer any portion of the ACA's health benefit exchange in a partnership with the federal government or to select an essential health benefits benchmark plan under the ACA

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Panel discussion on the insurance industry's perspective of issues and concerns relating to implementation of the ACA, including Mr. Rod St. Aubyn, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota; a representative of Medica; a representative of National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors - North Dakota (NAIFA-ND); a representative of Sanford Health; and Mr. Jack McDonald, America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

2:00 p.m. Panel discussion on the medical provider's and consumer's perspective of issues and concerns relating to implementation of the ACA, including Mr. Scot Graff, CEO, Community Health Care Association of the Dakotas (CHAD); Mr. Josh Askvig, North Dakota AARP; Mr. Tim Blasl, North Dakota Hospital Association; and Ms. Courtney Koebele, North Dakota Medical Association

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

3:00 p.m. Committee directives

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives George J. Keiser (Chairman), Donald L. Clark, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Jim Kasper, Gary Kreidt, Lisa Meier, Ralph Metcalf, Marvin E. Nelson, Karen M. Rohr, Robin Weisz, Lonny B. Winrich

Senators Spencer D. Berry, Dick Dever, Jerry Klein, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel