#### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

# Tentative Agenda

## HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Thursday and Friday, October 6-7, 2011 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

## Thursday, October 6, 2011

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting

9:05 a.m. Remarks by Chairman Keiser

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Melissa Hauer, General Counsel, Insurance Department, providing an

update of the status of states' implementation of the health benefit exchange provisions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and providing followup information requested at the previous

meeting

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

9:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of HTMS, Indianapolis, Indiana, regarding the services

HTMS is performing for the Insurance Department under a contract to conduct background research, analyze data, identify options, and recommend a viable plan for developing and

sustaining a state health benefit exchange

Committee discussion and directives

10:10 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Committee review of and discussion and directives regarding a bill draft creating a state-

governed health benefit exchange that meets the requirements of the ACA

Comments by interested persons will be taken during the committee review

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Continuation of committee review of and discussion and directives regarding the bill draft

Comments by interested persons will be taken during the committee review

4:30 p.m. The committee will adjourn if it has completed its review of the bill draft; however, if

additional committee work remains at the end of the day, the committee will recess and

resume its work the following morning.

#### Friday, October 7, 2011

If the committee did not adjourn Thursday afternoon, the committee will continue committee review of and discussion and directives regarding the bill draft

9:00 a.m. Comments by interested persons will be taken during the committee review

12:00 noon Adjourn

### **Committee Members**

Representatives George J. Keiser (Chairman), Donald L. Clark, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Jim Kasper, Gary Kreidt, Lisa Meier, Ralph Metcalf, Marvin E. Nelson, Karen M. Rohr, Robin Weisz, Lonny B. Winrich

Senators Spencer D. Berry, Dick Dever, Jerry Klein, Judy Lee, Tim Mathern

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel