NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, August 2, 2011 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the chairman
9:05 a.m.	Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding property tax reform and relief
9:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the property tax reform and relief study
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the studies of special assessments
10:00 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the special assessments studies
10:15 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the income tax credit study and a background memorandum on the corporate income tax study
10:50 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Joe Becker, Tax Department, providing an inventory of income tax credits, including a description, the number of claimants, and the fiscal effect to the state for each credit
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Mary Loftsgard, Tax Department, on corporate income tax issues, including nexus, tax base, income apportionment, and filing method information
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the income tax credits and corporate income tax studies
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Tax Department representatives of background information for the sales tax exemption studies, including fiscal effect of existing sales tax exemptions and background information on 2011 legislative consideration of a proposal for a sales tax exemption for health-related clinics
1:15 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the sales tax exemption studies
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on tobacco tax stamp history
1:35 p.m.	Comments by tobacco industry representatives on the tobacco tax stamp study
1:50 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the tobacco tax stamp study
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of oil extraction tax rates and exemptions
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the oil extraction tax study
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David Hogue (Chairman), Randy Burckhard, Dwight Cook, Jim Dotzenrod, Lonnie J. Laffen, Dave Oehlke, Ronald Sorvaag

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Glen Froseth, Lyle Hanson, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Richard Holman, Jim Kasper, Shirley Meyer, Mike Nathe, Marvin E. Nelson, Mark S. Owens, Roscoe Streyle

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Counsel