MEETING NOTICE

Senator Judy Lee, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HEALTH SERVICES COMMITTEE**.

Date: Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda:

Presentations by representatives of the Regional Public Health Network Task Force, the North Dakota State Association of City and County Health Officials, and the State Health Officer regarding the regional public health network developed during the 2009-11 biennium and recommendations for improvements; by representatives of the Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control Policy regarding smoking statistics and information regarding the results of programs that were awarded grant funds; by representatives of the Wilson Health Planning Cooperative regarding a report on the disparities between Native American and non-Native American health care; by representatives of the State Department of Health regarding the history of the determination of public health unit boundaries, an Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council report on emergency medical services in the state, and the status of potential legislative changes related to the Health Care Data Committee; by representatives of the State Hospital regarding the telepsychiatry program; by representatives of the North Dakota Health Information Technology Office and advisory committee regarding the role of technological innovations in providing health care services in the state; by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding its statewide behavioral health plan; and other presentations, including presentations by the State Fire Marshal of a report regarding findings and recommendations for legislation to improve the effectiveness of the law on reduced ignition propensity standards for cigarettes and by the State Department of Health of a report regarding the department's inventory of materials relating to abortions

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Judy Lee, Spencer D. Berry, Ralph L. Kilzer, Tim Mathern, Gerald Uglem, John Warner; Representatives Stacey Dahl, Kathy Hogan, Karen Karls, Robert Kilichowski, Jon Nelson, Mark S. Owens, Vonnie Pietsch, Karen M. Rohr, Mark Sanford, Robin Weisz

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Fiscal Analyst

Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/BM