NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Call to order 9:00 a.m.

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 29, 2013, meeting

Remarks by the Chairman

ACTUARIAL VALUATIONS OF THE TEACHERS' FUND FOR RETIREMENT (TFFR) AND PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM (PERS)

9:05 a.m.

- Overview of the TFFR and PERS valuation process by Mr. Matthew Strom, FSA. MAAA, EA, Consulting Actuary, The Segal Company, Chicago, Illinois
- Presentation by Mr. Strom of the July 1, 2013, actuarial valuation of TFFR
- Presentation by Mr. Brad Ramirez, FSA, MAAA, FCA, EA, Consulting Actuary, The Segal Company, Greenwood Village, Colorado, of the July 1, 2013, actuarial valuations of the PERS main system, judges' retirement fund, National Guard retirement fund, Highway Patrolmen's retirement fund, and retiree health benefits fund
- Presentation by Mr. Strom and Mr. Ramirez regarding the new Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) standards

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m.

Presentation by Mr. Sparb Colllins, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement System, regarding a status report on the implementation of 2013 House Bill No. 1059

and 2013 House Bill No. 1452

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and staff directives

2:00 p.m. Adjourn

NOTE: At the Chairman's discretion, the committee may take a 10-minute to 15-minute break in the morning and may skip the luncheon recess.

Committee Members

Senators: Dick Dever, Spencer Berry, Ralph Kilzer, Karen K. Krebsbach, David O'Connell, Connie

Triplett

Representatives: Randy Boehning, Roger Brabandt, Jason Dockter, Jessica Haak, Scott Louser, Kenton

Onstad, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel