## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## ADVISORY COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS

Wednesday, November 20, 2013 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 28, 2013, meeting
- 10:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. L. Anita Thomas, Counsel, Legislative Council, regarding the office of county superintendent of schools
- 10:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Linda Leadbetter, State Supervisor of Assessments, Tax Department, regarding assessors in the state
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department regarding the department's experience with development and use of forms for property tax notices and statements under 2013 legislative changes
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding the 1991-95 local government efficiency planning grant program administered by the commission
- 11:15 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Association of Counties regarding:
  - · Uniform accounting system feasibility
  - · County information submissions for the Office of Management and Budget website
  - · Unelected boards with authority to certify tax levies to the county for collection
  - · County and township assessment services
  - 2013 property tax levy information
- 11:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum regarding school district elections
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota League of Cities regarding:
  - 1991-95 local government efficiency planning grant program
  - Evaluation of proposals for economic development project property tax exemptions
  - · Review of the municipal calendar
  - Board members appointed by the city governing body who are compensated
  - Developing a common vision on reporting of budget and tax information
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Recreation and Park Association regarding park district budget categories and inflationary factors and comparison of property tax and user fee revenues
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding a history of statutory provisions for park districts
- 2:15 p.m. Break
- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding surrender of zoning authority by townships

- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of information regarding topics requested by the commission
- 3:00 p.m. Commission discussion and directives
- 3:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Commission Members**

Representatives: Brenda Heller (Chairman), Ron Guggisberg Senators: Dwight Cook, Jessica K. Unruh Citizen Members: Katie Andersen, Don Frye, Vicki Kubat, Jon Martinson, Scott Ouradnik, Mike Schwartz, Kenneth Yantes Governor's Designee: Brandi Pelham

Staff Contacts: John Walstad, Code Revisor Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel