NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, December 11, 2013 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management Comments by the Chairman
9:10 a.m.	UNIFORM LAWS RECOMMENDATIONS Presentation by Mr. Jay E. Buringrud, Commissioner, North Dakota Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the 2015 legislative session
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE LAWS REVIEW	
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding driving under the influence laws under 2013 House Bill No. 1302
9:30 a.m.	Presentations by Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem and Mr. Ken Sorenson, Assistant Attorney General, regarding issues related to the implementation of House Bill No. 1302
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Burleigh County State's Attorney's office regarding issues related to House Bill No. 1302
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Cass County State's Attorney's office regarding issues related to House Bill No. 1302
10:35 a.m.	Break
10:50 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota State's Attorneys' Association regarding issues related to House Bill No. 1302
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Chad McCabe regarding concerns of defense attorneys with respect to House Bill No. 1302
11:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Andrew Schultz regarding concerns of defense attorneys with respect to House Bill No. 1302
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Glenn Jackson, Director, Drivers License Division, Department of Transportation, regarding the impact on a driving record for the dual conviction issue in House Bill No. 1302
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sally Holewa, State Court Administrator, Supreme Court, regarding judicial concerns related to House Bill No. 1302
1:50 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Charles Placek, Commissioner, Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision, regarding issues related to the penalties and the 24/7 sobriety program in House Bill No. 1302
2:15 p.m.	Testimony from interested persons
2:50 p.m.	Committee discussion
3:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: David Hogue (Chairman), Kelly M. Armstrong, John Grabinger, Stanley W. Lyson, Mac Schneider, Margaret Sitte

Representatives: Lois Delmore, Ben W. Hanson, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Kim Koppelman, William E. Kretschmar, Diane Larson, Andrew G. Maragos, Gary Paur

Staff Contact: Vonette J. Richter, Counsel