NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 11, 2014 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the October 31, 2013, meeting 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Eric Dille, Director of Government Relations, EOG Resources, Inc., and Mr. Chad Waukon, Senior Research Manager, Energy and Environmental Research Council, on flaring 9:45 a.m. Comments and guestions by committee members 9:50 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on the regulation of pipelines 9:55 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, on underground gathering pipeline rules Comments and questions by committee members 10:25 a.m. 10:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Justin Kringstad, Director, North Dakota Pipeline Authority, on the transportation of crude oil inside and out of the Bakken 10:55 a.m. Break 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Denver Tolliver, Director, Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute, on recent studies of the institute 12:00 noon Luncheon recess 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. David Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State Department of Health, on an overview of waste site permitting Comments and questions by committee members 1:20 p.m. 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Helms on the permitting, regulation, and citing of oilfield waste pits 2:00 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members Presentation by Mr. Glatt on the environmental incident website and on the Tesoro 2:10 p.m. pipeline and the Casselton train derailment remediation 2:20 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members 2:25 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Helms on spill reporting rules and the illegal dumping remediation program 2:55 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members 3:05 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Greg Wilz, Director, Division of Homeland Security, Department of Emergency Services, on spill reporting and emergency management Comments and questions by committee members 3:20 p.m. 3:25 p.m. Committee discussion 3:40 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), John Andrist, Kelly M. Armstrong, David Hogue, Philip M. Murphy, Connie Triplett

Representatives: Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Ben W. Hanson, Todd Porter, Mike Schatz, Peter F. Silbernagel

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel