March 14, 2014

## **MEETING NOTICE**

Senator Ronald Sorvaag, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **GOVERNMENT SERVICES COMMITTEE**.

- Date: Wednesday, April 2, 2014
- **Time:** 9:00 a.m.
- **Place:** Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget regarding the total square feet of leased, owned, and total space by department, the cost of leased space and owned space per full-time equivalent (FTE) position by department, the projected space needs for each department, and a build versus lease cost analysis; by representatives of the Supreme Court regarding an update on the space needs analysis of the Supreme Court; by department representatives regarding space needs; by representatives of the James River Correctional Center regarding priorities for capital project needs; by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding land leased to the United States Department of Agriculture and other agricultural land managed by the department; by representatives of the State Hospital regarding priorities for capital project needs; by representatives of the Department of Veterans' Affairs regarding allowances for caskets, methods of communicating available benefits to the state's veterans, and an update on the status of the service dog training program; by representatives of the Tax Department regarding the amount of tax benefits to veterans and to surviving spouses; by representatives of the Adjutant General regarding projected costs for writing, publishing, and distributing a record of all North Dakota veterans since statehood; and other presentations, including a presentation by representatives of the Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities regarding its activities and goals and by the Legislative Council staff of the results of a survey of state agencies regarding space needs
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Senators Ronald Sorvaag, Ron Carlisle, Richard Marcellais, David O'Connell; Representatives Roger Brabandt, Glen Froseth, Ed Gruchalla, Rick Holman, Karen Karls, George J. Keiser, Curtiss Kreun, Scott Louser, Gail Mooney, Chet Pollert, Vicky Steiner, Alon Wieland

Staff Contacts: Alex J. Cronquist, Fiscal Analyst Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/JJB