NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, April 8, 2014 Norsk Room, State Fair Center, State Fairgrounds, 2005 Burdick Expressway East Minot, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 4, 2014, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Fintan Dooley, Coordinator, Salt Contaminated Land and Water Council, Inc., and others on salt spills and salt damage as a result of gas and oil development and on remediation and reclamation
- 10:45 a.m. Break
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ed Murphy, State Geologist, North Dakota Geological Survey, Department of Mineral Resources, on reserve pit and brine pond studies conducted in this state
- 11:55 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Paul Lohn, Pipeline Controls, LP, on controls and meters for pipelines
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Ron Ness, President, North Dakota Petroleum Council, on right-of-way issues
- 1:50 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jay Almlie, Senior Research Manager, Energy and Environmental Research Center, and Mr. Kevin Sedivec, Program Leader, Range Science, North Dakota State University, on studies related to spill remediation, land reclamation, and waste minimization
- 2:35 p.m. Break
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Niles Hushka, Chief Executive Officer, KLJ, on the study of the future of the oil and gas industry in this state
- 3:45 p.m. Committee discussion
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Rich Wardner (Chairman), John Andrist, Kelly M. Armstrong, David Hogue, Philip M. Murphy, Connie Triplett

Representatives: Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Ben W. Hanson, Todd Porter, Mike Schatz, Peter F. Silbernagel

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel