NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 28, 2015 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Comments by the Chairman
9:05 a.m.	Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee studies of the current scientific and economic information regarding oil and gas recovery and enhanced recovery techniques and the oil extraction tax exemptions available for incremental production from a tertiary recovery project that uses carbon dioxide
9:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the interim studies and committee review of the <i>Draft Request for Proposals for Consulting Services</i>
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of Denbury Resources, Inc. regarding an overview of the company's operations, the use of carbon dioxide in enhanced oil recovery, an analysis of North Dakota's taxation practices in relation to the company's operations, and any plans for future expansion in this state
10:25 a.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
10:45 a.m.	Break
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, on the various phases of oil production, the current methods utilized in oil and gas recovery, and future recovery methods that may be employed in this state
11:30 a.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Tax Department on tax incentives pertaining to oil and gas recovery and enhanced recovery and an overview of the revenue impacts related to those credits and exemptions
1:30 p.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
1:50 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
2:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Jessica Unruh (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Dwight Cook, Jim Dotzenrod, David Hogue, Lonnie J. Laffen, Connie Triplett

Representatives: Wesley R. Belter, Jason Dockter, Glen Froseth, Patrick R. Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Tom Kading, Jim Kasper, Jerry Kelsh, Alisa Mitskog, Vicky Steiner, Marie Strinden

Staff Contact: Emily L. Thompson, Counsel