NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, August 10-11, 2015 Ballroom, Student Center, Dickinson State University Dickinson, North Dakota

All times noted are Central Daylight Time.

Monday, August 10, 2015

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedures of the Legislative Management
- 10:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY

- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Dr. David Longanecker, President, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, Boulder, Colorado, and committee discussion regarding state and national higher education issues and trends
- 1:00 p.m Luncheon recess
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the State Board of Higher Education, and committee discussion regarding strategic planning of the North Dakota University System, including:
 - An overview of the higher education strategic plan required pursuant to Section 15-10-14.2
 - An update on facility master plan and space utilization studies
- 4:00 p.m. Presentations by the Legislative Council staff and committee discussion regarding the assigned studies and duties of the Higher Education Committee, including options to proceed with the committee studies and duties
- 5:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and duties
- 6:00 p.m. Recess

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

- 9:00 a.m. Reconvene and comments by the Chairman
- 9:05 a.m. Committee tour and discussion of high priority infrastructure needs and program offerings at Dickinson State University
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Stark Development Corporation regarding current and projected workforce needs of the Dickinson area
- 10:45 a.m. Presentations by representatives of Dickinson State University regarding:
 - The mission of Dickinson State University
 - Local campus issues
 - · Student recruiting efforts by the institution
 - The use of extraordinary campus funding provided to the institution

- 11:45 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Library Foundation regarding the status of the Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Library project
- 12:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and duties
- 12:30 p.m. Committee discussion
- 1:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Tracy Boe, Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, Matthew M. Klein, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Kylie Oversen, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber Beck, Roscoe Streyle

Senators: Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor