NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INCARCERATION ISSUES COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 20, 2015 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedures of the Legislative Management
10:05 a.m.	Comments by the Chairman
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee studies of pretrial services, sentencing alternatives, treatment options, and justice reinvestment reforms
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of letter requesting technical assistance from the Council on State Governments (CSG), the PEW Charitable Trusts, and the Bureau of Justice Assistance for the Incarceration Issues Committee
10:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directions regarding the letter requesting technical assistance
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Carl Reynolds, Senior Legal and Policy Adviser, Council on State Governments, Justice Center, on the role CSG plays in the Justice Reinvestment Initiative
11:30 a.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Leann Bertsch, Director, North Dakota Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, on the current prison populations in the state and the employment opportunities available to the female prison population
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Department of Public Instruction, on truancy programs available to youth in the state
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Tamara Uselman, Superintendent, Bismarck Public Schools, on truancy programs available to youth in the district
1:45 p.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives

Committee Members

Senators: Ron Carlisle (Chairman), John Grabinger, Terry M. Wanzek Representatives: Ron Guggisberg, Kim Koppelman, Jon O. Nelson

Citizen Members: Leann K. Bertsch, Thomas Erhardt, James D. Gion, Rozanna Larson, Douglas

Mattson, Frank Racek, Wayne Stenehjem, Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, Art

Walgren, Randy Ziegler

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel

Adjourn

2:15 p.m.