NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HEALTH CARE REFORM REVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the November 12, 2015, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES HEALTH INSURANCE STUDY

9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dick Hedahl, President, Hedahls Inc., regarding the company's

self-insurance health plan for employees

Committee discussion

10:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Public Employees Retirement

System (PERS) regarding the status of the PERS uniform group health insurance plans and the differences and similarities between and the pros and cons relating to grandfathered, nongrandfathered, self-insured, and fully insured health plans as they

relate to the PERS uniform group health insurance plans

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

10:55 a.m. Break

11:10 a.m. Panel discussion with representatives of Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota,

Medica, and Sanford Health Plan, regarding the carriers' activities and opportunities

relating to wellness and prevention and patient-centered medical homes

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

12:10 p.m. Luncheon recess

HEALTH CARE DELIVERY SYSTEM STUDY

1:15 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Insurance Department regarding the status of implementation of the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), open enrollment under ACA,

and states' opportunities to apply for innovation waivers under ACA

Committee discussion

1:45 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Stephanie Waloch, Medicaid Expansion Administrator, Department

of Human Services, and a representative of Sanford Health Plan, regarding the status of ACA implementation, the eligibility modernization project, and Medicaid Expansion

utilization

Committee discussion

2:25 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Health Policy Consortium, regarding the

consortium's activities in gathering data relating to the impact of ACA on hospitals in the

state

Comments by interested persons

2:35 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: George Keiser (Chairman), Rick C. Becker, Alan Fehr, Robert Frantsvog, Eliot Glassheim, Mary C. Johnson, Jim Kasper, Mike Lefor, Alex Looysen, Alisa Mitskog,

Karen M. Rohr

Senators: Tom Campbell, Gary A. Lee, Tim Mathern, David O'Connell, Ronald Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel