NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 9, 2016 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the September 10, 2015, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Carla Hahn, Accountability Manager, Department of Commerce, of an annual grantor report relating to the business incentive accountability law
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Karlene Fine, Executive Director and Secretary, Industrial Commission, regarding an overview of the Bakken CO₂ Storage and Enhanced Recovery Research Program and other related studies conducted by the Energy and Environmental Research Center through the Oil and Gas Research Program
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Margaret I. Olson, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's office, regarding the status of legal action related to the federal Environmental Protection Agency's regulation of carbon dioxide emissions under the Clean Power Plan
- 10:15 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State Department of Health, regarding North Dakota's plan for compliance with the Clean Power Plan
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jason Bohrer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lignite Energy Council, regarding an update on the Allam Cycle and options for compliance with the Clean Power Plan
- 11:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dale Niezwaag, Senior Legislative Representative, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, regarding an overview of the operations of the Dakota Gasification Company's Great Plains Synfuels Plant in relation to carbon capture and sequestration and Basin Electric Power Cooperative's three-part strategy for compliance with the Clean Power Plan
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Morrissette, Deputy Tax Commissioner, Tax Department, regarding the coal conversion facilities privilege tax and the coal severance tax, including historical collections and an overview of the allocation formula related to coal tax revenue
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Kelly L. Schmidt, State Treasurer, regarding past distributions of coal conversion facilities privilege tax and coal severance tax revenues to political subdivisions
- 1:20 p.m. Presentation by representatives of IHS Energy regarding an update on the progress of the company's study of enhanced recovery of oil and gas
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Joseph Henchman, Vice President of Legal & State Projects, Tax Foundation, regarding activities of the Tax Foundation
- 2:20 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Jessica Unruh (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Dwight Cook, Jim Dotzenrod, David Hogue, Lonnie J. Laffen, Connie Triplett

Representatives: Wesley R. Belter, Jason Dockter, Glen Froseth, Patrick R. Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Tom Kading, Jim Kasper, Jerry Kelsh, Alisa Mitskog, Vicky Steiner, Marie Strinden

Staff Contacts: Emily L. Thompson, Counsel